Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Youngs named in England squad

Figure image
Tom Youngs is named among the replacements for England for their RBS 6 Nations clash with Wales at Twickenham on Sunday.

England head coach Stuart Lancaster gas made two changes to his squad with Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby) replacing the injured Billy Vunipola at No 8 and Exeter Chiefs’ Tom Johnson coming on to the bench.

Lancaster said: “We can’t wait to play at home again. The players have said that the atmosphere at Twickenham for the Ireland game was the best they had experienced and I am sure it will be the same again on Sunday.

“It definitely gives us an extra lift and that’s what we want against another experienced, high quality side, who are looking to defend their title.”

England (v Wales, RBS 6 Nations, Twickenham Stadium, Sunday, 3pm, live on BBC Sport)
15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 24 caps)
14 Jack Nowell  (Exeter Chiefs, 3 caps)
13 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints, 3 caps)
12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 11 caps)
11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 4 caps)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 22 caps)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins, 45 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 18 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 53 caps)
3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 32 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 17 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 28 caps)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 26 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 23 caps)
8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 18 caps)

16 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 15 caps)

17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 13 caps)
18 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks, 4 caps)
19 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 8 caps)
20 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs, 5 caps)
21 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, 14 caps)
22 George Ford (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
23 Alex Goode (Saracens, 15 caps)

Wales: Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), George North (Northampton Saints), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Rhys Webb (Ospreys); Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Richard Hibbard (Ospreys), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues)(c), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).
Replacements: Ken Owens (Scarlets), Paul James (Bath Rugby), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Andrew Coombs (Newport Gwent Dragons). Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Liam Williams (Scarlets).