Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Youngs to set England record against Scots

Figure image

Ben Youngs will become England’s most-capped scrum-half after being named alongside five Leicester Tigers colleagues in the team to face Scotland in the final game of the Guinness Six Nations on Saturday.

The Tigers No9 will pick up his 85th cap for his country to move ahead of long-time international colleague Danny Care in the standings.
On Youngs’ record, England head coach Eddie Jones said: “It is a fantastic achievement, it takes a lot of dedication and hard work, and something he and his family will be really proud of. I am sure he will do the shirt great justice on Saturday.”

Youngs is joined by Tigers team-mates Jonny May and Manu Tuilagi – who this week agreed a new contract with the club – in the starting line-up, with Ellis Genge, Dan Cole and George Ford on the bench.

Head coach Jones makes four changes to the team that lined up against Italy last week. Jack Nowell replaces Joe Cokanasiga on the right wing and Henry Slade replaces Ben Te’o who drops to the bench. Ben Moon swaps with Genge in the front row while Mark Wilson comes in for Brad Shields.

Jones said: “It will be a fascinating finish to the Championship with three teams that can win it and we are playing against one of our most traditional foes in Scotland for the Calcutta Cup.

“Scotland is a difficult side, they are always at you, they play with a lot of enthusiasm and effort, and have a lot of attacking strings to their bow.”

There is live coverage of the game from Twickenham on ITV.

England (v Scotland, Twickenham, Saturday 5.00pm)
15 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 29 caps) 
14 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 32 caps)
13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 21 caps)
12 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 31 caps) 
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 44 caps)

10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 69 caps) (c)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 84 caps)
1 Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs, 7 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 36 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 21 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 57 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 31 caps)
6 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 12 caps)
7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 9 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 40 caps)
16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 10 caps)
17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 8 caps)  
18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 84 caps)

19 Brad Shields (Wasps, 7 caps)
20 Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 21 caps)
21 Ben Spencer (Saracens, 2 caps)
22 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 54 caps)
23 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors 17 caps)