Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

A night of celebrations at Tigers Awards

Julián Montoya made it two years in a row as the winner of Supporter’s Men’s Player of the Year to cap off a fantastic night of celebrations at Mattioli Woods Welford Road.

With awards spanning the Leicester Tigers men’s, women’s and wheelchair rugby squads, there was a plethora of achievements for the crowd of 500 players, supporters and club partners to applaud throughout. George Martin completed an exceptional double, winning both the Men’s Young Player and Player’s Player of the Year, in what has been a tremendous season for the versatile forward. In the Women’s team, top points scorer Molly Draycott claimed the Women’s Player’s Player of the Year, whilst the Women’s Young Player of the Year was claimed by Charlotte Fray. The Wheelchair Rugby Player of the Year was Invictus Games Gold medallist Tom Folwell

Although it’d be strange to say that Martin, who made his England debut in March of 2021 and 22 first-team appearances last year, had a breakout season this year, it feels like, at just 21 years old, his game has now truly evolved and his work in the second-row has been exceptional.

“It’s a great feeling, I have to say thank you to the boys for voting for me. It’s some team to be a part of and I’m very excited by what’s to come for us. I still get that buzz every time I pull on that shirt, every time I walk down those steps. Some of the best feelings of my life have been on that field so it means a lot” Martin said after receiving his second award of the night.  

The Topps Tiles Try-Umph of the Season was voted for exclusively by guests at the Annual Awards at Mattioli Woods Welford Road for the awards event on Tuesday evening from a shortlist of the monthly winners throughout the season.

Jasper Wiese won the award, for his marriage of both brutality and ballerina against Edinburgh Rugby, a score that saw Scotland captain Jamie Ritchie left lying in the wreckage as the South African No. 8 danced down the touchline to score.    

Winner of the Leicester Tigers Foundation award was Ed Mowe, head groundsman, who has shown phenomenal support to the Hitz program over the last few years.

The evening was organised in support of the Tigers Foundation and its work within the community, including with the Leicester Tigers Wheelchair Rugby Team.

Special thanks also goes to the night’s music sponsor PPL PRS

Tigers Awards winners 2022/23:

Supporters’ Player of the Year, sponsored by Lumbers: Julián Montoya

Men’s Players’ Player of the Year, sponsored by G&G Travel: George Martin

Women’s Players’ Player of the Year, sponsored by Hands CleanersMolly Draycott

Wheelchair Rugby Player of the Year: Tom Folwell

Men’s Young Player of the Year, sponsored by FidelityGeorge Martin

Women’s Young Player of the Year, sponsored by Macintyre Hudson Associates: Charlotte Fray

Leicester Tigers Foundation Award: Ed Mowe 

Topps Tiles Try-Umph of the Season: Jasper Wiese (vs. Edinburgh Rugby in the Heineken Champions Cup Round of 16)