Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Academy aim to maintain unbeaten run

Figure image

Leicester Tigers face Worcester Warriors in the third round of the Under-18 Academy League this Saturday (noon kick-off).

With an eye on the weather forecast, the fixture has been switched to Loughborough University as the club’s youngest players look to build on a strong start to season which has featured a draw with Northampton Saints and a 16-6 win over Sale Sharks in round two.

Tigers academy manager Dave Wilks said: “I thought the performance against Sale was excellent. They are a highly-rated team and we defended well but we also put them under a lot of pressure and forced mistakes. 

I was pleased with the way the leaders on the pitch controlled the game and we made some good tactical decisions.

“In the build-up to Worcester, the main focus has been on developing what we do really well and playing with good intent. The players lead the review process and they have picked out areas to improve.

“Worcester have good players and coaching staff so it will be a big test, but that is what we want. It is all about how the lads adapt and execute on the pitch.”

Loughborough University is located at LE11 3TT and supporters are welcome.

Leicester Tigers Academy team
15 Freddie Steward (Norwich School)
14 Zack Godfrey (Stamford School)
13 Andre Dunn (Langley School)
12 Ronnie Du Randt (Denstone College)
11 Luke Phoenix (Langley School)
10 Sam Costelow (Oakham School)
9 Will Yarnell (Loughborough Grammar School)
1 Keston Lines (Wyggeston & QE College)
2 Jamie Harding (Denstone College)
3 James Whitcombe (Woodhouse Grove School)
4 George Martin (Brooksby Melton College)
5 Cameron Jordan (Oakham School) (c)
6 Xander Purcell (Wyggeston & QE College)
7 Taylor Gough (Wyggeston & QE College)
8 Henri Lavin (Wyggeston & QE College)

16 Shaun Allsopp (Stamford School)
17 Finlay Gibson (Brooksby Melton College)
18 Alex Maxwell (Brooksby Melton College)
19 Willo Bicknell (Langley School)
20 Sam Eveleigh (Leicester Grammar School)
21 Jonny Law (Rugby School)
22 Sam Wager (Wyggeston & QE College)
23 Joe Browning (Denstone College)