Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Cole and Youngs start against the Pumas

Figure image
Dan Cole and Ben Youngs retain their starting places for England's autumn international against Argentina at Twickenham on Saturday (kick-off 2.30pm, live on Sky Sports 2).

Cole will win his 68th England cap while Youngs will make his 64th appearance for his country.
Head coach Eddie Jones makes four changes. George Kruis (Saracens) is named at second-row after recovering from an ankle injury and Tom Wood (Northampton Saints) returns at flanker. In the backline there are also returns for Mike Brown (Harlequins) at full back and Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby) on the right wing. Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints) is included on a bench that is otherwise unchanged.
Jones said: “This game against Argentina is a big step up for us as they were probably the second best team in the Rugby Championship and played some exceptional rugby. They are a quality team, have power in the forwards, speed and guile in the backs as well as great experience. We appreciate they have threats across the field and they have always been a physical, tough side. They still have their set-piece armoury in the scrum and lineouts so we’re looking forward to a great game of rugby against them.
 “The set-piece is going to be important. We have worked hard on our scrum and maul this week so they are areas we feel we can get a slight dominance in. We are looking forward to that physical challenge because when you play against the Argentinians it is a challenge. It is forwards against forwards, backs against backs. It is a bit of an old fashioned game.”
England match-day 23 for the Old Mutual Wealth Series game against Argentina
15 Mike Brown (vice captain, Harlequins, 53 caps)
14 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 20 caps)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 27 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (vice captain, Saracens, 45 caps)
11 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 7 caps)
10 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 28 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 63 caps)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 37 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints, 77 caps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 67 caps)
4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 51 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 18 caps) 
6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 53 caps)
7 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 43 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (vice captain, Saracens, 31 caps)
16 Jamie George (Saracens, 10 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 44 caps)
18 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 2 caps)
19 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
20 Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints, 3 caps)
21 Danny Care (Harlequins, 64 caps)
22 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, 2 caps)
23 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 3 caps)