Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Duo keep places for Churchill Cup weekend

Figure image
Jordan Crane and Billy Twelvetrees retain their places in the England Saxons squad for Sunday's Churchill Cup match against Tonga at Gloucester.

Tigers back row Crane will captain the side for a second successive week, while Twelvetrees lines up at centre following his man-of-the-match display in the record win over the USA last Saturday.

Full-back Alex Goode (Saracens), wing Charlie Sharples (Gloucester), scrum-half Paul Hodgson and hooker David Paice (both London Irish) come into the side as the only changes to hew starting line-up in the opening game.

Micky Young, Graham Kitchener and Kieran Brookes who all join Leicester Tigers in time for the new season are named among the replacements for a match that will determine who meets Canada in the Churchill Cup final at Worcester on June 18.

Saxons head coach Stuart Lancaster said: "We've rotated our squad to give players opportunities because we see the tournament very much about development as well as being a competition in its own right.

"Tonga had a very good win against what was probably a stronger USA side than the one we faced and we're very aware of the physicality they'll bring.

"It's important that we improve our execution, particularly in the first half, and that this young England Saxons side measures up to the physical challenge."

For more information and to purchase tickets, visit www.churchillcuprugby.net

England Saxons
15 Alex Goode (Saracens)
14 Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)
13 Henry Trinder (Gloucester Rugby)
12 Billy Twelvetrees (Leicester Tigers)
11 Topsy Ojo (London Irish)
10 Rory Clegg (Harlequins)
9 Paul Hodgson (London Irish)
1 Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors)
2 David Paice (London Irish)
3 Matt Stevens (Saracens)
4 Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
5 Dave Attwood (Gloucester Rugby)
6 James Gaskell (Sale Sharks)
7 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)
8 Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers, captain)


16 Joe Gray (Harlequins)
17 Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons)
18 Graham Kitchener (Worcester Warriors)
19 Jamie Gibson (London Irish)
20 Micky Young (Newcastle Falcons)
21 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
22 Mike Brown (Harlequins)