Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

England name team for Under-20s final

Figure image
England Under-20 have named their side to face South Africa in the IRB Junior World Championship Final on Friday at Eden Park.

England have kept the same starting line-up that beat Ireland 42-15 in the semi-final. There is one change on the bench as prop Biyi Alo comes in for Leicester Tigers front-rower Harry Rudkin.
Henry Purdy, who joins Gloucester from Leicester this summer, is among the replacements.
England are competing in their third final in four years and hoping to defend the title they won in France last season, beating Wales 23-15 in the final.
Head coach Nick Walshe said: “This is a great opportunity for our guys. They have been excellent all trip and have fully deserve to get to where they are.
“We’re putting a real emphasis on performing for the full 80 minutes, we feel that we have played well in patches throughout the tournament but we want to see a complete performance.”
Kick-off on Friday is at 8.35am UK time and the match is live on Sky Sports.
England Under-20s
15 Aaron Morris (Bedford Blues)
14 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Harry Sloan (Harlequins)
11 Nathan Earle (Saracens)
10 Billy Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Henry Taylor (Loughborough University)
1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
2 Tom Woolstencroft (Bath Rugby)
3 Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens)(c)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)
7 Gus Jones (London Wasps)
8 James Chisholm (Harlequins)
16 Jack Walker (Leeds Carnegie)
17 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps)
18 Biyi Alo (Saracens)
19 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (Saracens)
20 Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs)
21 Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby)
22 Sam Olver (Northampton Saints)
23 Henry Purdy (Leicester Rugby)