Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

England retain four Tigers for Italian job

Figure image
England have named an unchanged squad for Saturday's match against Italy, with four Leicester Tigers included in the 22 heading to Rome.

Dan Cole reaches 25 caps in the front row, with Tom Croft playing in his 33rd England Test and scrum-half Ben Youngs earning his 19th cap.

Second-row Geoff Parling, who made his debut in the win over Scotland in the opening round of this season’s RBS 6 Nations, is again named among the replacements.

Head coach Stuart Lancaster said: "We have decided to leave the starting team the same to allow them more time to gel together and we are expecting our bench to come on and make an impact as they did last week.

"Italy will be a very difficult challenge with nearly 700 caps in their starting line-up and it promises to be an outstanding occasion at the sold-out Stadio Olimpico.”

The Tigers quartet will come up against club colleague Martin Castrogiovanni who is included in the Italy front row.

15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
14 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
13 Brad Barritt (Saracens)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens)
11 David Strettle (Saracens)
10 Charlie Hodgson (Saracens)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
1 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
5 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
6 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) (c)
8 Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)

16 Rob Webber (London Wasps)
17 Matt Stevens (Saracens)
18 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
19 Ben Morgan (Scarlets)
20 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
21 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
22 Mike Brown (Harlequins)

15 Andrea Masi (Aironi Rugby)
14 Giovanbattista Venditti (Aironi Rugby)
13 Tommaso Benvenuti (Benetton Treviso)
12 Gonzalo Canale (Clermont Auvergne)
11 Luke McLean (Benetton Treviso)
10 Kristopher Burton (Benetton Treviso)
9 Edoardo Gori (Benetton Treviso)
1 Andrea Lo Cicero (Racing-Metro Paris)
2 Leonardo Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso)
3 Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers)
4 Quintin Geldenhuys (Aironi Rugby)
5 Marco Bortolami (Aironi Rugby)
6 Alessandro Zanni (Benetton Treviso)
7 Robert Barbieri (Benetton Treviso)
8 Sergio Parisse (Stade Francais) (c)

16 Tommaso D'Apice (Aironi Rugby)
17 Lorenzo Cittadini (Benetton Treviso)
18 Antonio Pavanello (Benetton Treviso)
19 Mauro Bergamasco (Aironi Rugby)
20 Fabio Semenzato (Benetton Treviso)
21 Tobias Botes (Benetton Treviso)
22 Luca Morisi (BancaMonte Parma Crociati)