Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers six set to face France

Six Leicester Tigers are named in the matchday squad as England face France in the final round of this season’s Guinness Six Nations in Paris on Saturday.

Head coach Eddie Jones includes Ellis Genge at prop and record appearance-holder ben Youngs at scrum-half for the trip, while club colleague Freddie Steward moves to the wing as George Furbank starts at full-back.

Tigers forwards Nic Dolly and Ollie Chessum, who have one cap each, are among the replacements alongside clubmate George Ford.

Jones said: “This is our strongest 23 for the game against France. We are disappointed not to be in the contention for the trophy but last week’s effort against Ireland was full of pride, energy and tactical discipline.

“We have focused on refreshing the team this week and we are ready to empty the tank on Saturday.”

France v England is an 8.00pm kick-off (UK time) and is shown live on ITV.
England XV
15 George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
14 Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 9 caps)
13 Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 11 caps)
12 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 47 caps)
11 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 38 caps)
10 Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 9 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 116 caps)
1 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 35 caps)

2 Jamie George (Saracens, 65 caps)
3 Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 19 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 55 caps)
5 Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, 6 caps)
6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 92 caps)
7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 27 caps)
8 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 13 caps)
16 Nic Dolly (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)

17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 78 caps)
18 Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 51 caps)
19 Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)
20 Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 8 caps)
21 Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, 5 caps)
22 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 80 caps)
23 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 56 caps)

France: Jaminet; Penaud, Fickou, Danty, Villiere; Ntamack, Dupont (c); Baille, Marchand, Atonio, Woki, Willemse, Cros, Alldritt, Jelonch.

Replacements: Mauvaka, Gros, Haouas, Flament, Taofifenua, Cretin, Lucu, Ramos.