Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Wheelchair Rugby

Five Tigers called up for Team GB

Figure image

Five members of the Leicester Tigers Wheelchair Rugby team have been selected in Great Britain’s fifteen-athlete long squad for 2022.

Jamie Stead, Gavin Walker, Jack Smith and Nick Cummins are recalled following their involvement in the team’s history making 2021 Paralympic gold in Toyko.

Tigers’ Kieran Flynn, one of five new faces to the squad to be called up, has come through the GBWR Talent pathway and enjoys a place in the senior squad ahead of the 2022 calendar.

The squad will compete next year in the European Championship in France, the Canada Cup, and the World Championship in Denmark.

The long squad selection will meet at a training camp in January to prepare for the year ahead.

GBWR head coach Paul Shaw added: “I want to congratulate all athletes on their selection, particularly those selected for the first time.

“Having won gold in Tokyo we now refocus on next year’s competitions and want to continue to build on that successful foundation.

“I’m really excited by this group of athletes; we have experience blended with new talent and believe this will maintain our success in the future.”

Great Britain Wheelchair Rugby squad 2022

Stuart Robinson                 3.5         West Coast WRC

Aaron Phipps                     3.5         London WRC

Faye West                          3.5         West Country Hawks

Ollie Mangion                     3.0         London WRC

Jamie Stead                      2.5         Leicester Tigers WRC

Ayaz Bhuta                         2.5         West Coast WRC

Gavin Walker                     2.0         Leicester Tigers WRC

Kieran Flynn                      2.0         Leicester Tigers WRC

David Ross                         2.0         London WRC

Nick Cummins                  1.5         Leicester Tigers WRC

Ryan Cowling                     1.0         West Coast WRC

Jack Smith                        0.5         Leicester Tigers WRC

Daniel Kellett                      0.5         West Coast WRC

Jonathan Coggan               0.5         London WRC

Kylie Grimes                       0.5         London WRC