Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Flood answers call as England centre

Figure image
Toby Flood will play at inside centre as England include six Leicester Tigers players in the starting line-up for Saturday's Rugby World Cup quarter-final.

England manager Martin Johnson replaces Mike Tindall with Flood in midfield, alongside clubmate Manu Tuilagi.

Ben Youngs is retained at scrum-half and the forward pack includes Dan Cole, Louis Deacon and Tom Croft.

Flood’s inclusion is among four changes since the win over Scotland with Tom Palmer, Nick Easter and Mark Cueto replacing Courtney Lawes, James Haskell and Delon Armitage.

England (v France, Eden Park, Saturday, 8.30am UK time)
15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
14 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
12 Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)

11 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
10 Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
1 Matt Stevens (Saracens)
2 Steve Thompson (London Wasps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers)

5 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
6 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
7 Lewis Moody (Bath Rugby, c)
8 Nick Easter (Harlequins)

16 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
17 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
18 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
19 Simon Shaw (Unattached)
20 James Haskell (Ricoh Black Rams)
21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
22 Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby)