Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Goneva and Williams up for players' awards

Figure image
Vereniki Goneva is up for the Computacenter Players' Player of the Year Award 2014, as voted for by Aviva Premiership players.

And his Leicester Tigers teammate Owen Williams has been nominated by his peers for the LV= Young Player of the Year Award.

Goneva has already landed the Players’ Player and Supporters Player of the Year awards with Tigers and is shortlisted for Player of the Year at the Aviva Premiership awards, which take place at the Hilton Park Lane on Thursday.

The Fiji international is nominated alongside Mike Brown and Danny Care (Harlequins), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints) and Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors).

Goneva said: “I feel very happy to be recognised. There are so many big players in the Aviva Premiership, so to be nominated amongst guys like Mike Brown and Danny Care, makes me very proud.”

Williams is nominated in the Land Rover Discovery of the Year category at the Aviva Premiership awards after taking home both the players’ and supporters Young Player of the Year award at Tigers.

He is nominated with George Ford (Bath Rugby), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Billy Vunipola (Saracens) and Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby).

Williams said: “I’m over the moon. I’m really thankful to my teammates for showing so much faith in me.

“It’s very supportive being nominated by other players, and feels very good to get their recognition. This season has been really good so far, it was unfortunate that we got knocked out of the Heineken Cup, but we have kept working hard and playing well.”

To qualify for the LV= Young Player of the Year Award players must have been 23 or under as of 1st September 2013.

The winners will be announced at The RPA Computacenter Players’ Awards 2014, held at Battersea Evolution on Wednesday, May 21.

The Computacenter Players’ Player of the Year Award 2014 nominees:

Mike Brown – Harlequins

Danny Care – Harlequins

George Ford – Baths Rugby

Vereniki Goneva – Leicester Tigers

Samu Manoa – Northampton Saints

Chris Pennell – Worcester Warriors

Previous winners of the Computacenter Players’ Player of the Year Award:

2013: Christian Wade – London Wasps

2012: Nick Evans – Harlequins

2011: Thomas Waldrom – Leicester Tigers

2010: Schalk Brits – Saracens

2009: Seilala Mapusua – London Irish

2008: Riki Flutey – London Wasps

2007: Glen Jackson – Saracens

2006: Jason White – Sale Sharks

2005: Martin Corry - Leicester Tigers

2004: Bruce Reihana – Northampton Saints

2003: Jonny Wilkinson – Newcastle Falcons

2002: Jason Robinson – Sale Sharks

2001: Mike Catt – Bath Rugby

2000: Pat Lam – Northampton Saints

1999: Neil Back – Leicester Tigers

Previous winners of the LV= Young Player of the Year:

2013: Christian Wade – London Wasps

2012: Owen Farrell – Saracens

2011: Manu Tuilagi – Leicester Tigers

2010: Ben Youngs – Leicester Tigers

2009: Ben Foden – Northampton Saints

2008: Danny Cipriani – London Wasps

2007: David Strettle – NEC Harlequins

2006: Tom Varndell – Leicester Tigers

2005: Harry Ellis – Leicester Tigers

2004: Olly Barkley – Bath Rugby

2003: James Forrester – Gloucester Rugby

2002: Charlie Hodgson – Sale Sharks

2001: Steve Borthwick – Bath Rugby

2000: Iain Balshaw – Bath Rugby

1999: Jonny Wilkinson – Newcastle Falcons