Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Great start in England colours for Tigers pair

Figure image
Manu Tuilagi and Billy Twelvetrees enjoyed successful debuts for England Saxons in Saturday's 45-17 win over Italy A.

The Leicester Tigers duo teamed up at centre and both played a big part in the victory at Worcester’s Sixways Stadium, with Tuilagi among the try-scorers.

James Simpson-Daniel struck twice, with Tuilagi, James Gaskell and senior internationals Ugo Monye, Mike Brown and Paul Hodgson completing the lost of scorers.

The Saxons braved some early pressure from the visitors before Monye burst into the line 40 metres out and claimed the opening try, and then Twelvetrees was involved in the move for Sale forward Gaskell to touch down.

Twelvetrees was also involved in the next score, as his neat inside ball opened up room for full-back Brown to get over the line.

Simpson-Daniel finished in the corner, then opened up through the middle to give Tuilagi the chance to batter his way over.

Chris Robshaw’s inside pass put replacement scrum half Hodgson over under the posts before Simpson-Daniel wrapped up the afternoon’s work with the seventh try.

England Saxons: Mike Brown (Harlequins); James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Billy Twelvetrees (Leicester Tigers), Ugo Monye (Harlequins); Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens); Joe Marler (Harlequins), Lee Mears (Bath Rugby), Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), Graham Kitchener (Worcester Warriors), Christian Day (Northampton Saints), James Gaskell (Sale Sharks), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain), Luke Narraway (Gloucester Rugby). Replacements: James Buckland (London Irish), Duncan Bell (Bath Rugby), George Robson (Harlequins), Andrew Saull (Saracens), Paul Hodgson (London Irish), Brad Barritt (Saracens), Olly Morgan (Gloucester Rugby).
Tries: Simpson-Daniel 2, Monye, Gaskell, Brown, Tuilagi, Hodgson. Conversions: Myler 5.
Italy A: Paolo Buso (Aironi); Giulio Toniolatti (Aironi), Andrea Pratichetti (Benetton Treviso), Matteo Pratichetti (Aironi), Michele Sepe (Benetton Treviso); Riccardo Bocchino (Aironi), Fabio Semenzato (Benetton Treviso); Matias Aguero (Aironi), Franco Sbaraglini (Benetton Treviso), Lorenzo Cittadini (Benetton Treviso), Antonio Pavanello (Benetton Treviso, captain), Marco Bortolami (Aironi), Valerio Bernabo (Benetton Treviso), Francesco Minto (Benetton Treviso), Josh Sole (Aironi). Replacements: Andrea Manici (GranDucato Parma), Michele Rizzo (Benetton Treviso), Fabio Staibano (Aironi), Joshua Furno (Aironi), Nicola Belardo (Estra I Cavalieri Prato), Gilberto Pavan (Aironi), Andrea Marcato (Petrarca Padova).
Tries: Buso, Toniolatti. Conversions: Boccino 2. Penalty: Boccino