Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Heyes heads to second World Under-20s

Figure image

Leicester Tigers prop Joe Heyes has been named in the England squad for his second appearance at a World Rugby Under-20s Championship this summer.

Heyes, who played a full part with the national squad last season, has added 20 first-team appearances for Tigers in his breakthrough season in 2018/19 and has been named in a 28-man England squad by head coach Steve Bates.

He is among nine players who have appeared in this tournament in previous seasons alongside fellow prop Marcus Street, lock Joel Kpoku, back-rowers Josh Basham, Ted Hill, Aaron Hinkley and Tom Willis, fly-half Marcus Smith and centre Fraser Dingwall.

Argentina hosts the 2019 Championships in the cities of Rosario and Santa Fe.

England are drawn in Pool B and open the campaign against Ireland on June 4, then face Italy and Australia before the knockout stages begin on June 17 with finals on Saturday, June 22.
Head coach Bates said: “Choosing 28 players from the 45 we have capped this season has been incredibly tough so it’s a pretty good achievement for these players to be selected for the tournament and they should be incredibly proud of their inclusion.
“For a lot of these players it will be a unique experience to go to Argentina and play in a tournament of this stature and I know they will be relishing the challenge.
“We have a very good and experienced group of players and if we can keep them fit then we feel we are going to be very competitive in Argentina.”
England squad for World Rugby Under-20 Championship
Olly Adkins (Gloucester Rugby)
Alfie Barbeary (Wasps)
Josh Basham (Newcastle Falcons)
Richard Capstick (Exeter Chiefs)
Alex Coles (Northampton Saints)
Tom de Glanville (Bath Rugby)
Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints)
Connor Doherty (Sale Sharks)
Nic Dolly (Sale Sharks)
Ollie Fox (Yorkshire Carnegie)
Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers)
Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors)
Aaron Hinkley (Gloucester Rugby)
Josh Hodge (Newcastle Falcons)
Joel Kpoku (Saracens)
Samson Ma'asi (Northampton Saints)
Sam Maunder (Exeter Chiefs)
Kai Owen (Worcester Warriors)
Alfie Petch (Exeter Chiefs)
Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks)
Arron Reed (Sale Sharks)
Tom Seabrook (Gloucester Rugby)
Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins)
Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs)
Rusiate Tuima (Exeter Chiefs)
Manu Vunipola (Saracens)
Tom Willis (Wasps)