Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Johnno picks all-star Tigers XV

Figure image
England's World Cup winning skipper Martin Johnson has named current Leicester stars Ben Kay and Martin Corry in his all-time Tigers team.

Johnson picked his best XV as Leicester prepare to take on Wasps in the Heineken Cup Final in a bid to add to their domestic Cup and Premiership double.

"It has been a very tough job to select just 15 players from Leicester's history," he tells sports website http://www.sportasylum.com/. "But I had to pick myself because it would be fun to play in this team."

The XV are all English, have 634 caps between them and feature some of the greatest names in rugby. There is even a slot for England's World Cup mastermind Sir Clive Woodward, who gets a berth at outside centre.

The formidable line-up includes England's top try scorer Rory Underwood on the left wing and former Tigers' boss Dean Richards at No. 8.

Hear Martin Johnson talk about his selections on http://www.sportasylum.com/

15. Tim Stimpson
14. Rory Underwood
13. Clive Woodward
12. Paul Dodge
11. Austin Healy
10. Les Cusworth
9. Nick Youngs

8. Dean Richards
7. Neil Back
6. Martin Corry
5. Martin Johnson
4. Ben Kay
3. Graham Rowntree
2. Peter Wheeler
1. Darren Garforth

Coach. Chalkie White