Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Jones gathers his England squad

Figure image
Ellis Genge remains with the England squad this week ahead of the two-Test tour to Argentina after playing in the warm-up fixture against the Barbarians at Twickenham on Sunday.

Leicester Tigers prop Genge, who won his first Test cap at the end of last season, started in the front row as England beat the Barbarians 28-14 at the national stadium just 24 hours after the Aviva Premiership Final.
His Tigers clubmate George McGuigan also gained international experience as a replacement after his midweek call to join the England squad following injury to Rob Buchanan, while national squad captain Dylan Hartley was involved in the European play-offs.
England head coach Jones has now confirmed his squad for the series in South America as they gathered in London before flying out next Saturday.
Genge is joined by fly-half George Ford who is among the tour vice-captains and returns to Leicester next season.
Ford kicked three penalties and two conversions as England secured victory in front of a 50,000-strong crowd. Saracens duo Nathan Earle and Nick Isiekwe, and Harlequins scrum-half Danny Care, claimed the tries.
Marland Yarde has been called up as cover for Denny Solomona who is having a foot injury assessed, while Auckland Blues fly-half Piers Francis will fly from New Zealand to join the group in Argentina next weekend. 
Head coach Eddie Jones said: "I'm really excited about this Test series. It is a big opportunity for this group and we are going out there to win 2-0.

"The players who have been in camp over the last few weeks have done extremely well and the win against a Barbarians team full of top internationals yesterday is testament to the hard work they have put in."

"We are looking forward to a good week of preparation in London before we depart this weekend."

England: Mike Brown (Harlequins, 60 caps), Nathan Earle (Saracens, uncapped), Sam James (Sale Sharks, uncapped), Alex Lozowski (Saracens, uncapped), Jonny May (Gloucester, 25 caps), George Ford (Bath, 35 caps), Danny Care (Harlequins, 71 caps); Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap), Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors, uncapped). Will Collier (Harlequins, uncapped), Charlie Ewels (Bath, 3 caps), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, uncapped), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 55 caps), Sam Underhill (Bath, uncapped), Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks, uncapped).
Replacements: George McGuigan (Leicester Tigers, uncapped), Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks, uncapped), Jamal Ford-Robinson (Bristol, uncapped), Tom Ellis (Bath, uncapped), Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 27 caps), Mike Haley (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
Barbarians: 15 Alex Goode (Saracens & England) 21 caps, 14 Timoci Nagusa (Montpellier & Fiji) 24, 13 Yann David (Toulouse & France) 4, 12 Frans Steyn (Montpellier & South Africa) 53, 11 Adam Ashley-Cooper (Bordeaux-Begles & Australia) 116, 10 Ian Madigan (Bordeaux-Begles & Ireland) 30, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i (Bath Rugby & Samoa) 31, 1 Mikheil Nariashvili (Montpellier & Georgia) 41, 2 Richard Hibbard (Gloucester & Wales) 41, 3 Census Johnston (Toulouse & Samoa) 59, 4 Patricio Albacete (Toulouse & Argentina) 57, 5 Jeremy Thrush (Gloucester & New Zealand)12, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse & France, captain) 80, 7 Steffon Armitage (Pau & England) 5, 8 Facundo Isa (Lyon & Argentina) 25.
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Chris King, 18 WP Nel, 19 Joe Tekori, 20 Gillian Galan, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Robbie Fruean, 23 Horacio Agulla.
England tour squad
Don Armand (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)
Will Collier (Harlequins, uncapped)
Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 3 caps)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 84 caps) (captain)
Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 8 caps)
Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, uncapped)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 42 caps)
Matt Mullan (Wasps, 15 caps)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 55 caps)(vice-captain)
Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors, uncapped)
Tommy Taylor (Wasps, 1 cap)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)
Mike Brown (Harlequins, 60 caps) (vice-captain)
Danny Care (Harlequins, 71 caps) (vice-captain)
Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish, uncapped)
Ollie Devoto (Exeter Chiefs, 1cap)
Nathan Earle (Saracens, uncapped)
George Ford (Bath Rugby, 36 caps) (vice-captain)
Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
Sam James (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
Alex Lozowski (Saracens, uncapped)
Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 25 caps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 5 caps)
Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
Marland Yarde (Harlequins, 11 caps)
The following players were not available for selection:
Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
Rob Buchanan (Harlequins, uncapped)
Jack Clifford (Harlequins, 10 caps)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 74 caps)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 4 caps)
Elliot Daly (Wasps, 13 caps)
Tom Ellis (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
Owen Farrell (Saracens, 52 caps)
Jamie George (Saracens, 17 caps)
James Haskell (Wasps, 75 caps)
Paul Hill (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
Maro Itoje (Saracens, 12 caps)
Sam Jones (Wasps, uncapped)
Jonathan  Joseph (Bath Rugby, 33 caps)
George Kruis (Saracens, 20 caps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 58 caps)
Joe Marchant (Harlequins, uncapped)
Joe Marler (Harlequins, 51 caps)
Ryan Mills (Worcester Warriors, uncapped)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 23 caps)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 8 caps)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, 8 caps)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 34 caps)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 42 caps)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 26 caps)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 50 caps)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 70 caps)
England’s two-Test tour to Argentina:
Estadio San Juan del Bicentenario, San Juan, 10 June, kick-off 8.15pm (BST).  
Estadio Brigadier General Estanislao Lopez, Santa Fe, 17 June, kick-off 8.15pm (BST).