Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Landmark win for Ayerza & Pumas

Figure image
Marcos Ayerza celebrated a memorable victory over South Africa on Saturday in his 60th Test cap for Argentina.   Pumas wing Juan Imhoff scored a hat-trick of tries in their first-ever win over South Africa, winning 37-25 in the Rugby Championship fixture in Durban.   Ayerza played a prominent part as the scrum set the platform for Argentina on the day they commemorated the 50th anniversary of their first tour of South Africa.     Tigers supporters have a chance to assess the Pumas at first hand on Saturday, September 5 when they travel to Welford Road in the Marcos Ayerza Testimonial Challenge as they continue their build-up to the Rugby World Cup.   Tickets are available now from the Tigers ticket office. Book at reception at Welford Road, phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2) or click here to book online.    South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Jesse Kriel, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar; , 1 Tendai Mtawarira, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 3 Vincent Koch, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 5 Lood de Jager, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 8 Schalk Burger. Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Lwazi Mvovo. Argentina: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Juan Martin Hernandez, 9 Tomas Cubelli; 1 Marcos Ayerza, 2 Agustin Creevy (c), 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 4 Guido Petti, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 6 Pablo Matera, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 8 Leonardo Senatore. Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera, 18 Matias Diaz, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Tomas Lezana, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Lucas Amorosino.