Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

May returns for England v Australia

Figure image

Jonny May returns to the England team to play Australia in the second Test of the Old Mutual Wealth Series (Saturday 18 November, KO 3pm, live on Sky Sports).

May, who was last night named the Aviva Premiership Player of the Month for October, is one of four Leicester Tigers players in the starting XV for the game at Twickenham.

Ben Youngs and George Ford are the half-back partnership while Dan Cole starts in the front row alongside Mako Vunipola and Dylan Hartley.

Australia, meanwhile, have named new Tigers signing Tatafu Polota-Nau in their starting XV for the game. The hooker, who will link up with Tigers in December, will win his 81st cap.

May’s inclusion on the right wing is one of four changes made by head coach Eddie Jones to the side that defeated Argentina 21-8 on Saturday. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby) moves to fullback after Mike Brown (Harlequins) was not considered for selection following his head injury last weekend.

Owen Farrell (Saracens) makes a return to the team for the first time this season in place of Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs) at inside centre. 

The only change in the pack sees Joe Launchbury (Wasps) replace George Kruis (Saracens).  The Wasps lock will partner Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints) who is set to win his 60th cap for England.

Maro Itoje (Saracens) is also called up in the matchday squad and is named as one of the replacements.

Jones said: “I have selected the strongest 23 to play Australia and we will have to be effective in everything we do this weekend to win. This is going to be a great challenge, as we know Australia have been in great form towards the end of their season.

“The players have had an extremely positive week. They have trained well and worked hard and we are all excited about going out on Saturday and playing well against a very good Australian side.” 

England team to play Australia
Starting 15
15 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 27 caps)
14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers 27 caps)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 34 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens 52 caps)
11 Elliot Daly (Wasps 14 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 38 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers 71 caps)

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 43 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 87 caps) captain
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 75 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 45 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 59 caps)
6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 57 caps)
7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby 2 caps)
8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps 11 caps)
16 Jamie George (Saracens 18 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins 51 caps)
18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 3 caps)
19 Maro Itoje (Saracens 12 caps)
20 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs 1 cap)
21 Danny Care (Harlequins 74 caps)
22 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs 8 caps)
23 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby 3 caps)

Wallabies team: 15 Kurtley Beale (69 Tests), 14 Marika Koroibete (6 Tests), 13 Tevita Kuridrani (56 Tests), 12 Samu Kerevi (16 Tests), 11 Reece Hodge (22 Tests) 10 Bernard Foley (vc) (53 Tests), 9 Will Genia (vc) (86 Tests); 1 Scott Sio (41 Tests), 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau (80 Tests), 3 Sekope Kepu (89 Tests), 4 Rob Simmons (80 Tests), 5 Adam Coleman (20 Tests), 6 Ned Hanigan (11 Tests), 7 Michael Hooper (c) (77 Tests), 8 Sean McMahon (24 Tests). Replacements: 16 Stephen Moore (127 Tests), 17 Tom Robertson (17 Tests), 18 Allan Alaalatoa (21 Tests), 19 Matt Philip (2 Tests), 20 Ben McCalman (51 Tests), 21 Lopeti Timani (10 Tests), 22 Nick Phipps (60 Tests), 23 Karmichael Hunt (4 Tests), 24 Henry Speight (19 Tests) *one to be omitted