Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Polota-Nau and Toomua start for Wallabies

Figure image

Tatafu Polota-Nau and Matt Toomua have been named in the Wallabies starting line-up for Saturday’s clash with the Springboks.

Polota-Nau will win his 85th Test cap and Toomua his 36th when Australia and South Africa meet in the Rugby Championship clash in Brisbane.

Toomua lines up outside Kurtley Beale, who starts at fly-half for the first time since 2014.

The Leicester Tigers and Australia centre said: “It's always exciting when you hear your name read out for an international match and even more so in the starting side for the Wallabies.

“I'm really excited for the opportunity and it's a nice touch to be able to do it with a Tigers team mate in Taf on the international stage.

“My time at Tigers has added a lot to my game and I want to show that this week for the Wallabies.”

Wallabies team to face the Springboks

15 Israel Folau (66 Tests)

14 Dane Haylett-Petty (23 Tests)

13 Reece Hodge (29 Tests)

12 Matt Toomua (35 Tests)

11 Marika Koroibete (13 Tests)

10 Kurtley Beale (76 Tests)

9 Will Genia (92 Tests)

1 Scott Sio (47 Tests)

2 Tatafu Polota-Nau (84 Tests)

3 Allan Alaalatoa (25 Tests)

4 Rory Arnold (15 Tests)

5 Adam Coleman (25 Tests)

6 Lukhan Tui (9 Tests)

7 Michael Hooper (c) (84 Tests)

8 David Pocock (71 Tests)

Replacements: 16 Folau Faingaa (1 Test), 17 Tom Robertson (23 Tests), 18 Taniela Tupou (4 Tests), 19 Izack Rodda (9 Tests), 20 Ned Hanigan (13 Tests), 21 Joe Powell (4 Tests), 22 Bernard Foley (60 Tests), 23 Jack Maddocks (2 Tests)