Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Reffell retains place for Welsh deciding Test

Figure image

Tommy Reffell starts in the Wales back row for the final summer Test against South Africa on Saturday.

The Leicester Tigers flanker plays alongside Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau, and will come up against clubmate Jasper Wiese who returns to the Springboks line-up.

The teams have one win each in the series so far with the decider hosted at DHL Stadium in Cape Town on Saturday. Kick-off is 4.05pm UK time on Saturday with live coverage on Sky Sports Action and highlights on S4C.

Head coach Wayne Pivac said: “Most people had written us off before we left Wales and to be in this position with an opportunity to win this series is a great position for us to be in. It’s fantastic that there’s something to play for in this Test match.

“We’re looking forward to another full house and another crowd that really gets behind the occasion and makes it a special one.”

Wales: 15 Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby 80 caps), 14 Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby 18 caps), 13 George North (Ospreys 104 caps), 12 Nick Tompkins (Saracens 22 caps), 11 Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby 41 caps), 10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints 102 caps)(c), 9 Kieran Hardy (Scarlets 13 caps); 1 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys 12 caps), 2 Ryan Elias (Scarlets 29 caps), 3 Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby 40 caps), 4 Will Rowlands (Dragons 20 caps), 5 Adam Beard (Ospreys 36 caps), 6 Dan Lydiate (Ospreys 67 caps), 7 Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers 2 caps), 8 Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby 91 caps)

Replacements: 16 Dewi Lake (Ospreys 7 caps), 17 Wyn Jones (Scarlets 44 caps), 18 Sam Wainwright (Saracens 1 cap), 19 Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys 152 caps), 20 Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby 32 caps), 21 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby 35 caps), 22 Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys 32 caps), 23 Owen Watkin (Ospreys 32 caps)