Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Seven Tigers picked for England U18s squad

Figure image

Seven of the Leicester Tigers' Academy League-winning side have been named in the England Under-18s development squad.

Joe Browning, Jonny Law, Tom Manz, George Martin, Freddie Steward, Jack van Poortvliet and James Whitcombe have all been selected in a 42-player squad ahead of March’s fixtures against Scotland and France before April’s Under-18 Six Nations Festival.

Martin had previously toured South Africa with England Under-18s in August at the start of the pathway season.

All seven featured in Sunday’s Under-18 League Grand Final win over Gloucester, with wing Browning scoring a brace of tries.

The camp will serve as vital preparation before the side face Scotland at Billingham RUFC on Sunday, March 17 and France a week later at Cheshunt RFC.

The Under-18 Six Nations Festival will see England take on Wales on Saturday, April 13, before matches against Ireland (April 17) and France (April 21).

The festival, which is participated in by all six unions, will show each nation in three fixtures over 10 days. The teams will be hosted by Hartpury University and Hartpury College, with fixtures across three venues – Gillman’s Ground, Sixways Stadium and Kingsholm Stadium.

The Under-18s are led by pathway performance coaches Jim Mallinder and Steve Bates, alongside consultant coaches Mark Luffman, Sean Marsden and Jonathan Fisher.

England Under-18s development squad
Anjo Ademuwagun (Wasps) Harrow School
Harry Ascherl (Bristol Bears) Clifton College
Orlando Bailey (Bath Rugby) Beechen Cliff School
George Barton (Gloucester Rugby) Dean Close School
Harvey Beaton (Saracens) Sutton Valence
Archie Benson (Gloucester Rugby) Dean Close School
Jenson Boughton (Gloucester Rugby) Hartpury College
Joe Browning (Leicester Tigers) Denstone College
Joe Carpenter (Yorkshire Carnegie) Woodhouse Grove
Jack Clement (Gloucester Rugby) Cheltenham College
Phil Cokanasiga (London Irish) St Pauls College
Tom Curtis (Sale Sharks) Sedbergh School
Theodore Dan (Saracens) Alleyn's School
Jack Forsythe (Worcester Warriors) Warwick School
Harry Fry (Gloucester Rugby) Hartpury College
Josh Gillespie (Northampton Saints) Millfield School
Josh Gray (Gloucester Rugby) Dean Close School
Luke Green (London Irish) St Paul’s Catholic College
James Harper (Sale Sharks) Merchant Taylor's
Xavier Hastings (Bath Rugby) Bishop Wordsworth's
Louis Hillman-Cooper (Gloucester Rugby) Cheltenham College
Joe Howard (Gloucester Rugby) Hartpury College
Will Joseph (London Irish) Millfield School
Jonny Law (Leicester Tigers) Rugby School
Louis Lynagh (Harlequins) Hampton School
Tom Manz (Leicester Tigers) Denstone College
George Martin (Leicester Tigers) Brooksby Melton College
Nahum Merigan (Bath Rugby) Beechen Cliff School
Chunya Munga (London Irish) Leighton Park School
Zac Nearchou (Wasps) Radley College
Max Ojomoh (Bath Rugby) KES Bath
Raphael Quirke (Sale Sharks) St Ambrose College
Jack Reid (Harlequins) Wellington College
Sam Riley (Harlequins) St George's Weybridge
Tom Roebuck (Sale Sharks) Wirral Grammar
Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers) Norwich School
John Stewart (Bath Rugby) Beechen Cliff School
Will Trenholm (Harlequins) Cranleigh School
Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers) Oakham School
George Warboys (Bath Rugby) Beechen Cliff
James Whitcombe (Leicester Tigers) Woodhouse Grove
Jude Williams (Wasps) Caterham School