Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Five Tigers in England 20s team to play Ireland

Figure image

Five members of the Leicester Tigers senior academy have been included in the England Under-20s side to face Ireland at StoneX Stadium on Saturday, February 12.

Emeka Ilione will captain the team at No8, with fellow Tigers forwards Lewis Chessum and Tim Hoyt included in the starting pack.

Front-rower Hoyt will make his England Under-20s debut and Chessum his first start for the national team after debuting off the bench in the last round.

Meanwhile, Leicester youngsters Sam Edwards is included at scrum-half and Jacob Cusick at outside-centre.

All five Tigers are graduates from the club's academy programme, with Edwards and Cusick making their senior debuts earlier this season in the Premiership Rugby Cup competition.

England Under-20s Head Coach Alan Dickens said: “The team produced some good performances against Wales in the last round, although there were areas we should have capitalised on and we’ve been working on that this week.  

“The competition within the squad is evident during training and drives the standards during the week. 

“Our game against Ireland last summer was certainly a physical battle and we expect much the same at the weekend.  Ireland has secured three wins out three, so we know how tough a challenge it is going to be. 

“The players have given their all during training and I have no doubt that they will take that onto the pitch at StoneX Stadium on Saturday night.” 

England U20 XV: 15. George Hendy (Northampton Saints, Caps 2), 14. Deago Bailey (Bristol Bears, Caps 6), 13. Jacob Cusick (Leicester Tigers, Caps 1), 12. Ethan Grayson (Northampton Saints, Caps 3), 11. Cassius Cleaves (Harlequins, Caps 1), 10. Jamie Benson (Harlequins, 3 Caps), 9. Sam Edwards (Leicester Tigers, Caps 2), 1. Fin Baxter (Harlequins, Caps 4), 2. John Stewart (Bath Rugby, Caps 3), 3. Tim Hoyt (Leicester Tigers, Caps 0), 4. Lewis Chessum (Leicester Tigers, Caps 1), 5. Tom Lockett (Northampton Saints, Caps 1), 6. Ewan Richards (Bath Rugby, Caps 5), 7. Toby Knight (Saracens, Caps 2), 8. Emeka Ilione (Leicester Tigers, Caps 4) - Captain
Replacements: 16. Finn Theobald-Thomas (Worcester Warriors, Caps 2), 17. Mark Dormer (Newcastle Falcons, Caps 2), 18. Mikey Summerfield (London Irish, Caps 3), 19. Chandler Cunningham-South (London Irish, Caps 1), 20. Lucas Brooke (London Irish, Caps 2), 21. Nye Thomas (Sale Sharks, Caps 0), 22. Louie Johnson (Newcastle Falcons, Caps 2), 23. Will Joseph (London Irish, Caps 0)