Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers at Exeter Chiefs

Figure image
Ben Youngs returns to the Leicester Tigers line-up for Saturday's Aviva Premiership Round 4 trip to Exeter Chiefs.Scrum-half Youngs will play for the club for the first time since the Rugby World Cup after recovering from an ankle injury.   He lines up in a team captained by older brother Tom, who leads Tigers in league action for the first time.   Jordan Crane makes his first starting appearance of the season in the back row, while Dom Barrow starts at lock after making his Tigers debut as a replacement in the win over Wasps last Sunday.   Telusa Veainu, a try-scorer on his debut last Sunday, is at full-back with Mathew Tait among the replacements.   Opeti Fonua has been ruled out for 6-8 weeks after suffering an arm fracture in the match against Wasps, but Laurence Pearce returns to the matchday squad this week.   Saturday’s game is a 5.30pm kick-off and will be shown live on BT Sport.   Leicester Tigers (vs Exeter Chiefs, Sandy Park, Saturday 5.30pm) 15 Telusa Veainu   14 Adam Thompstone   13 Matt Smith   12 Seremaia Bai   11 Vereniki Goneva   10 Owen Williams   9 Ben Youngs   1 Fraser Balmain   2 Tom Youngs (c)      3 Dan Cole   4 Dom Barrow   5 Sebastian de Chaves   6 Tom Croft   7 Lachlan McCaffrey   8 Jordan Crane  Replacements 16 Harry Thacker   17 Riccardo Brugnara   18 Tiziano Pasquali   19 Mike Fitzgerald   20 Laurence Pearce   21 Jono Kitto   22 Peter Betham   23 Mathew Tait Exeter Chiefs:  15 Phil Dollman, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ian Whitten, 11 James Short, 10 Gareth Steenson (c), 9 Will Chudley; 1 Ben Moon, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 3 Tomas Francis, 4 Mitch Lees, 5 Damian Welch, 6 Dave Ewers, 7 Julian Salvi, 8 Don Armand. Replacements: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Alec Hepburn, 18 Moray Low, 19 Ollie Atkins, 20 Thomas Waldrom, 21 Dave Lewis, 22 Sam Hill, 23 Matt Jess