Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

The Club Social round up

Seriously…you had to be there.

In what was one of the highlights of the season, the Club Social saw players and fans mixing and laughing in equal portions as the club crowned our Supporter's Choice Players of the Season and the newly established, Peter Wheeler Medal.

Tigers Men’s backrower Hanro Liebenberg became the first ever recipient of the Medal, named after Peter Wheeler, who made 349 appearances, including a lengthy period as captain, and coached the club to the Courage Clubs Championship in 1987/88 – the first national league season – and then served as President when the game entered another era with professionalism in 1995 before being appointed as its first chief executive.

The Medal is awarded to the player, from either squad, to have demonstrated The Tigers Way over and above throughout the season in both on and off-field duties.

A devoted season-ticket holder and volunteer in our community, Gill Conaron was presented with the Foundation Award for her tireless commitment to the club.

Tigers Women’s centre Meg Jones took home the Supporter’s Choice Player of the Year with lock Ollie Chessum claiming the Men’s award.

Finally, Tongan star Solomone Kata was voted as Best New Men’s Player and Scottish International Francesca McGhie took home Best New Women’s Player.

Tigers would like to thank all supporters who attended the event, and our brilliant hosts, Ben Youngs and Dan Cole.