Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

TIGERS CLASSIC | 1981 John Player Cup

Supporters can re-live the club's historic 1981 John Player Cup Final win in this week's Tigers Classic match on LTTV.

A week and 39 years to the day, the famous fixture between Leicester Tigers and Gosforth at Twickenham will be shown as-live on the club's YouTube channel from 3.00pm on Saturday, May 9.​

The Chalkie White coached Tigers side were chasing history after back-to-back Cup wins in 1979 and 1980 against Moseley and London Irish and, in front of almost 25,000 fans at HQ, Leicester recorded a seven-point win.

Steve Kenney, Tim Barnwell and Dusty Hare were the try-scorers on the day and the ever-reliant boot of Hare also added five goals.

The victory meant the trio of try-scorers, as well as Paul Dodge, Les Cusworth, Robin Cowling, Steve Redfern, Nick Joyce, Steve Johnson, Ian "Dosser" Smith, Garry Adey and captain Peter Wheeler were the dozen to feature in all three of the successive Cup wins, as well as Angus Collington who had been named as a replacement for the trio of games.

Watch the match the Tigers Classic match above on LTTV.

John Player Cup Final [1981] - Leicester Tigers v Gosforth

May 2, 1981 at Twickenham Stadium, London
Referee: Roger Quittenton
Tigers XV
O - Dusty Hare
N - Kevin Williams
M - Clive Woodward
L - Paul Dodge
K - Tim Barnwell
J - Les Cusworth
I - Steve Kenney
A - Robin Cowling
B - Peter Wheeler (c)
C - Steve Redfern
D - Nick Joyce
E - Nick Jackson
F - Steve Johnson
H - Ian "Dosser" Smith
G - Garry Adey

P - Angus Collington
Q - Chris Tressler
R - Wayne Richardson
S - Mick Merriman
T - Andy Key
U - Brian Hall

Coach: Chalkie White