Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers contingent step up England preparations

Six Leicester Tigers players will remain with the England squad for a second pre-World Cup training camp next week.

Props Dan Cole and Ellis Genge, plus George Ford, Jonny May, Manu Tuilagi and Ben Youngs keep their places after playing their part in the opening camp under national coach Eddie Jones.

They are in a squad of 31, with Danny Cipriani, Piers Francis, Willi Heinz, Courtney Lawes and Ollie Thorley all added to the group while Kyle Sinckler and Marcus Smith will both return to their club Harlequins next week.

Jack Nowell will join George Kruis and Mako Vunipola in camp to continue their rehabilitation.

Jones said: “It has been a really positive week and I am really pleased with the attitude of the players. They have all come back from their leave in excellent condition and the best I have seen in the time I have been with England.
“Next week we will add some players and be looking to improve our physical conditioning, ability to understand how we want to play the game and start to increase the pressure at training.

“We have a couple of players going back to their clubs as we feel it is in their best interests in terms of the World Cup to do that, and we will consider their participation in the squad further down the track.”
England’s official Rugby World Cup training squad will be announced on Thursday, July 4.
England training squad 
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)
Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins)
Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints)
Val Rapava Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby)
Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors)
Brad Shields (Wasps)
Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Danny Cipriani (Gloucester Rugby)
Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Piers Francis (Northampton Saints)
Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby)
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby)
Dan Robson (Wasps)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Ollie Thorley (Gloucester Rugby)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

*In for medical treatment: George Kruis (Saracens), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Mako Vunipola (Saracens)