Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers duo named in BT Sport Dream Team

Two Leicester Tigers players have been named in the BT Sport Dream Team for the season.

Matt Toomua, who Tigers supporters voted their Player of the Year, was named at centre while Ellis Genge, the fans’ Young Player of the Year, was selected in the front row.

The team was revealed at the Premiership Rugby Awards in central London on Wednesday evening.

BT Sport Dream Team

15 Willie Le Roux – Wasps

14 Vereniki Goneva – Newcastle Falcons

13 Rob Horne – Northampton Saints

12 Matt Toomua – Leicester Tigers

11 Josh Adams – Worcester Warriors

10 Danny Cipriani - Wasps 

9 Faf De Klerk – Sale Sharks

1 Ellis Genge – Leicester Tigers 

2 Luke Cowan-Dickie – Exeter Chiefs

3 John Afoa – Gloucester Rugby

4 Calum Green – Newcastle Falcons 

5 Ed Slater – Gloucester Rugby

6 Jamie Gibson – Northampton Saints

7 Don Armand – Exeter Chiefs

8 Sam Simmonds – Exeter Chiefs

Vereniki Goneva was named the Aviva Premiership Player of the Season while Dean Richards, his boss at Newcastle Falcons, was the Director of Rugby of the Season.

Goneva was also the Top Try Scorer, sharing it with Josh Adams of Worcester Warriors. Newcastle also picked up the Citizen Try of the Season award for Sinoti Sinoti’s score against Exeter Chiefs in Round 13.

The Land Rover Discovery of the Season was won by Exeter Chiefs’ Sam Simmonds, Josh Bassett of Wasps was the Singha 7s Player of the Season and Mark Lambert of Harlequins was named the Aviva Community Player of the Season.