Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers quartet open autumn series in England colours

England include four Leicester Tigers players in the matchday squad to face Argentina in the opening game of the autumn series on Saturday.

Ben Youngs and George Ford are named at half-back, with Dan Cole earning a 75th cap in the front row. Ellis Genge is among the replacements. Club colleague Jonny May, who has not recovered in time from a hamstring injury, is not included in the 23.

Ford is among seven players – alongside Mike Brown, Dylan Hartley, Nathan Hughes, Chris Robshaw, Henry Slade and Sam Underhill – who started in England’s last Test against Argentina in June who retain their place.

National coach Eddie Jones said: “As a squad we have been preparing for this game since our first camp in August and are excited about playing in front of 82,000 fans at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.

“This is our best 23 selected in what is our most important game this year. We know that Argentina is a strong team and we will have to be smart and play well to beat them.”

England’s opening game of the Old Mutual Wealth Series is a 3.00pm kick-off on Saturday and will be broadcast live by Sky Sports.

England (v Argentina, Saturday 3.00pm)

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins 62 caps)

14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 26 caps)

13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 33 caps)

12 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs 7 caps)

11 Elliot Daly (Wasps 13 caps)

10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 37 caps)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers 70 caps)

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 42 caps)

2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 86 caps)(c)

3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 74 caps)

4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 58 caps)

5 George Kruis (Saracens 20 caps)

6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 56 caps)

7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby 1 cap)

8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps 10 caps)



16 Jamie George (Saracens 17 caps)

17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers 3 caps)

18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 2 caps)

19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 44 caps)

20 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs uncapped)

21 Danny Care (Harlequins 73 caps)

22 Alex Lozowski (Saracens 2 caps)

23 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby 2 caps)