Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Tigers trio released by England

Figure image
Ben and Tom Youngs and Ed Slater have been released by England and will be available for Leicester Tigers' Aviva Premiership game against Gloucester Rugby on Sunday (2pm kick-off).

The Tigers trio are among 18 players released back to their Aviva Premiership clubs by England head coach Stuart Lancaster.

Gloucester will have their trio of Freddie Burns, Matt Kvesic and Ben Morgan available for the Round 14 fixture.

The starting XV from England’s game at Murrayfield will remain at St George's Park near Burton on Trent for training on Wednesday and Thursday morning.

The whole squad will return to Pennyhill Park on Sunday evening to prepare for the RBS 6 Nations match against Ireland.

Lancaster said: "The replacements will return to their Premiership clubs and be available to play this weekend which will give them valuable game time."

Tickets to Sunday's Aviva Premiership fixture between Tigers and Gloucester are still available. Book now in person from the Welford Road ticket office, on 0844 856 1880 (option 2) or online by clicking here.

Players returning to Aviva Premiership clubs:
Chris Ashton (Saracens)
David Attwood (Bath Rugby)
Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)
George Ford (Bath Rugby)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby)
Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
Matt Mullan (London Wasps)
Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)
Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Players retained at St George's Park:
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)