Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Tigers trio start England's final World Cup warm-up

Figure image
Head coach Stuart Lancaster has named three Leicester Tigers players in his starting XV for England's final World Cup warm-up match against Ireland on Saturday.Hooker Tom Youngs and prop Dan Cole are named in the front row while Ben Youngs starts at scrum-half for the game at Twickenham. Kick-off is at 2.30pm. Brad Barritt (Saracens) and Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby) form the centre partnership, while Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs) comes into the second in place of Joe Launchbury (Wasps). Elsewhere, Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby) returns to the right wing in place of Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints) and Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby) come in for James Haskell and Billy Vunipola respectively.   Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) captains the team from the back row. England head coach Lancaster said: “We are excited about this weekend and playing at home and it is another opportunity for these 23 players as we finalise our preparations for the Rugby World Cup. “The players know that having made the 31 is not enough and we have seen in training how determined they are to be in that squad to play Fiji in the opening game of the tournament.”   It is England’s last game before the begin their World Cup campaign against Pool A opponents Fiji at Twickenham on Friday, September 18 (8pm).   England (v Ireland, Twickenham, Saturday, September 5, 2.30pm UK time) 15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 38 caps) 14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 10 caps) 13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 12 caps) 12 Brad Barritt (Saracens, 22 caps) 11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 15 caps) 10 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)  9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 48 caps) 1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 32 caps) 2 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 23 caps) 3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 51 caps) 4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 39 caps)  5 Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 24 caps) 6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 37 caps) 7 Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins, 38 caps) 8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 28 caps) Replacements 16 Jamie George (Saracens, 1 cap) 17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 22 caps) 18 Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 11 caps) 19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 23 caps) 20 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 18 caps) 21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 22 caps) 22 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 30 caps) 23 Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)