Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Club News

Toomua takes supporters' top award

Matt Toomua was presented with the Player of the Year award by #TigersFamily Award winner Ian Smith
Matt Toomua was presented with the Player of the Year award by #TigersFamily Award winner Ian Smith

Matt Toomua has been named Leicester Tigers Player of the Year by supporters.

Australian centre Toomua topped the voting in his second season at the club and was presented with his trophy at the Supporters’ Awards Dinner at Welford Road on Tuesday evening.

Toomua, who made just two appearances in his debut season at Welford Road due to injury, has returned to play a prominent part in the team throughout 2017/18, playing at centre and fly-half.

Accepting the trophy as Supporters’ Player of the Year, Toomua said: “I love it here, I’ve been here almost two years now and I’ve really settled in.

“It's an honour to be recognised by the club. Considering the year we have had, the ups and the downs, this is a nice personal milestone but as a team we are looking to achieve more next year."

England internationals Jonny May (Best Newcomer) and Ellis Genge (Young Player) also picked up awards, with Genge retaining a prize he also won in 2016/17.

Greg Bateman’s score against Harlequins at The Stoop was named Try of the Season. Scroll down to watch all the nominated tries.


Former international flanker Tom Croft, who retired as a player earlier this season, picked up the Outstanding Service award in recognition of a career which included more than 170 appearances for Tigers as well as 40 England caps and five Tests with the British & Irish Lions.

Croft said: “I always wanted to be a one-club player and seeing Geordan Murphy do that here spurred me on even more. The club looked after me through my injuries and this is my club, this is my home. It’s amazing to receive this award.”

Long-time supporter Ian Smith was the recipient of the #TigersFamily Award and the evening also honoured Leicester Tigers Wheelchair Rugby Team members Darren Bragg (Players’ Player of the Year) and Matt Sullivan (Coaches’ Player of the Year. The club has enjoyed its best-ever season as they became BT Super Series champions for the first time.

Awards Night, which also supported the work of the Leicester Tigers Foundation, was hosted in the Premiership Suite at Welford Road, in the company of the Tigers playing squad, coaching team and chief executive Simon Cohen. More than 300 Tigers supporters enjoyed a three-course meal alongside the players, with videos and interviews throughout the evening as well as the presentations.

Scroll down to hear from all the big award winners talking exclusively to LTTV.