Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Trio in England squad for autumn Tests

Figure image
Dan Cole, Ellis Genge and Ben Youngs have been included in the 33-man England squad for the autumn Tests against South Africa, Fiji, Argentina and Australia.

England head coach Eddie Jones announced his squad for the Old Mutual Wealth Series today and will take the 33 players to Portugal for a week of specific training from Sunday and return to the team base at Pennyhill Park to prepare for the opening game against South Africa at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday, November 12.
With 10 players unavailable through injury, Jones has named six uncapped players in the squad: Tight-head prop Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), No8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps), lock Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), wing Mike Haley (Sale Sharks), fly–half Alex Lozowski (Saracens) and centre Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors). 
After recovering from a lengthy injury, wing Jonny May (Gloucester) returns, as do back-rowers Ben Morgan (Gloucester), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints) and Dave Attwood (Bath).
“With a number of influential players missing through injury we have two weeks to prepare a robust and resilient team to meet the challenges set for us in the Old Mutual Wealth Series.” said Jones.
“Our training camp is a great opportunity to spend a week together, focus on putting our game plans in place and for new players to understand the England way.”
Genge won his first cap in the end-of-season Test against Wales before joining England’s squad for the tour to Australia in the summer, while Cole (66 caps) and Youngs (61 caps) are among the most experienced members of the 33-man squad.
Tigers colleagues Mike Williams and Manu Tuilagi are among the 10 men unavailable due to injury.
England squad for Old Mutual Wealth Series
Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby) *injury replacement for George Kruis (Saracens)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints) *injury replacement for James Haskell (Wasps)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins) 
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby) *injury replacement for Jack Clifford (Harlequins) 
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Tommy Taylor (Wasps)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens) 
Mako Vunipola (Saracens) 
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints) *injury replacement for Mike Williams (Leicester Tigers) 

Mike Brown (Harlequins) 
Danny Care (Harlequins) 
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Owen Farrell (Saracens) 
George Ford (Bath Rugby) 
Alex Goode (Saracens) 
Mike Haley (Sale Sharks)
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
Alex Lozowski (Saracens)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Marland Yarde (Harlequins) *injury replacement for Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) 
Injured players not considered for selection:
Jack Clifford (Harlequins)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
James Haskell (Wasps)  
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
Sam Jones (Wasps)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)  
Mike Williams (Leicester Tigers)