Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Tuilagi and Youngs on bench for Six Nations finale

Figure image
Manu Tuilagi is named in the England squad to face Italy in their final game of this season's RBS 6 Nations on Saturday.

Leicester Tigers centre Tuilagi replaces Alex Goode (Saracens) on the bench in the only change to the matchday 23 that beat Wales at Twickenham. Tuilagi joins Tigers teammate Tom Youngs among the replacements.

Head coach Stuart Lancaster fields an unchanged starting line-up for the game in Rome’s Stadio Olimpico.

Lancaster said: “It’s great to be able to name an unchanged XV and we have been able to achieve consistency of selection from a very competitive squad this campaign.

“The Wales result was very significant for us but we need to finish the tournament well in Rome. We have had a tight turnaround and the key this week has been to manage the players’ recovery and get them in the best shape for what will be a tough match against Italy.”

England (v Italy, RBS 6 Nations, Stadio Olimpico, Saturday, 12.30pm GMT, live on BBC Sport)
15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 25 caps)
14 Jack Nowell  (Exeter Chiefs, 4 caps)
13 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)
12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 12 caps)
11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 5 caps)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 23 caps)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins, 46 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 19 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 54 caps)
3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 33 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 18 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 29 caps)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 27 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 24 caps)
8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 19 caps)

16 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 16 caps)

17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 14 caps)
18 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks, 5 caps)
19 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)
20 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs, 6 caps)
21 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, 15 caps)
22 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
23 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 21 caps)

Former Tigers prop Martin Castrogiovanni has been ruled out of Saturday’s clash after sustaining an injury against Ireland in Dublin last week.

He is replaced by Lorenzo Cittadini at tighthead with Matias Aguero taking over from Alberto de Marchi at loosehead and influential captain Sergio Parisse returning at No.8.

Parisse takes the place of Paul Derbyshire in the team as Robert Barbieri moves to openside.

Italy: Luke McLean; Angelo Esposito, Michele Campagnaro, Gonzalo Garcia, Leonardo Sarto; Luciano Orquera, Tito Tebaldi; Matias Aguero, Leonardo Ghiraldini, Lorenzo Cittadini; Quintin Geldenhuys, Marco Bortolami; Joshua Furno, Robert Barbieri, Sergio Parisse (capt)

Replacements: Davide Giazzon, Michele Rizzo, Alberto de Marchi, George Fabio Biagi, Paul Derbyshire, Edoardo Gori, Tommaso Allan, Andrea Masi