Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Under-20s prepare to face hosts

Figure image

Jack Van Poortvliet and Archie Vanes are again included in the England squad to face hosts Wales in the Under-20s Six Nations on Wednesday.

Leicester Tigers scrum-half Van Poortvliet continues as captain after wins in England’s opening three games, while hooker Vanes is named among the replacements.

There are three changes to the starting line-up from England’s 24-15 win against Ireland last week with Orlando Bailey and Tom Roebuck joining the backline and Fin Baxter set to win his first cap at prop.

Head coach Alan Dickens said: “Last week we had a hugely physical match and so we’ve made sure we’ve recovered well since then.

“I was really pleased with the character and effort from the team and seeing another improvement in our performance. I’m looking for the players to build on that again heading into this game.

“We know Wales v England is always a special match and we are expecting another strong challenge from a team on home turf.

“The hard work the players have put in so far has been outstanding. We will continue to push that in this game and can’t wait to get back out on pitch again.”

Teams are permitted to name a squad of 26 players for each fixture in this year’s competition due to Covid-19 regulations. Eight of the 11 replacements named in a squad can be used during the match.

Kick-off is at 8.00pm with live coverage on S4C Clic, S4C, EnglandRugby.com and Six Nations YouTube.

England U20s
15 Orlando Bailey (Bath Rugby)
14 Tom Roebuck (Sale Sharks)
13 Jack Bates (Bristol Bears)
12 Dan Lancaster (Leeds Tykes)
11 Arthur Relton (Exeter Chiefs)
10 Fin Smith (Worcester Warriors)
9 Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers)(c)
1 Fin Baxter (Harlequins)
2 Sam Riley (Harlequins)
3 Harvey Kindell-Beaton (Saracens)
4 Arthur Clark (Gloucester Rugby)
5 Alex Groves (Bristol Bears)
6 Ewan Richards (Bath Rugby)
7 Jack Clement (Gloucester Rugby)
8 Nahum Merigan (Bath Rugby)
16 Archie Vanes (Leicester Tigers)

17 Lewis Holsey (Worcester Warriors).
18 Luke Green (London Irish)
19 Freddie Thomas (Gloucester Rugby)
20 Josh Gray (Gloucester Rugby)
21 Ollie Stonham (Saracens)
22 Tom Carr-Smith (Bath Rugby)
23 Tommy Mathews (Hartpury University RFC)
24 Phil Cokanasiga (London Irish)
25 Deago Bailey (Bristol Bears)
26 Charlie Atkinson (Wasps)