Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Under-20s reach World Juniors Final

Figure image
England Under-20s are through to their third Junior World Championship final in four years after a 42-15 victory against Ireland at North Harbour Stadium in Auckland.

They will face South Africa in the final at Eden Park on Friday (8.35am BST).
Leicester Tigers duo Harry Rukdin and Henry Purdy were used as second-half replacements as England ran in five tries.
Tries from Harry Sloan, Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi, Howard Packman, Tom Woolstencroft and Gus Jones set England on the way to victory, while Billy Burns added two penalties and four conversions, and Packman a drop goal.
England made an uncompromising start and were 13-0 up with 10 minutes on the clock.  Burns slotted over a penalty, before Sloan picked a great line to crash over. The Gloucester fly-half, younger brother of Tigers signing Freddie, added the extras before scoring his second three-pointer soon after.
Ireland hit back with a penalty but England responded as Hobbs-Awoyemi ran through a gap to score minutes later.
A third try came as Burns’ cross-field kick found Packman in space and he stepped his man to score under the posts.
Woolstencroft then went over from the back of a rolling maul before Packman’s drop goal made it 34-3 early in the second half.
Jones provided England's final try, from another rolling maul.
Head coach Nick Walshe said: “We’re pleased with how we played, particularly in that first half. We challenged the guys to start well and they delivered. South Africa will provide a real test for us, but we’re excited.”
England Under-20s  
15 Aaron Morris (Bedford Blues)
14 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Harry Sloan (Harlequins)
11 Nathan Earle (Saracens)
10 Billy Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Henry Taylor (Loughborough University)
1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
2 Tom Woolstencroft (Bath Rugby)
3 Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens)(c)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)
7 Gus Jones (London Wasps)
8 James Chisholm (Harlequins)
16 Jack Walker (Leeds Carnegie) for Woolstencroft 52 mins
17 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps) for Hobbs-Awoyemi 52 mins
18 Harry Rudkin (Leicester Tigers) for Hill 65 mins
19 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (Saracens) for Itoje 60 mins
20 Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs) for Moriarty 54 mins
21 Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby) for Taylor 47 mins
22 Sam Olver (Northampton Saints) for Burns 58 mins
23 Henry Purdy (Leicester Rugby) for Tompkins 65 mins