Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Under-20s retain world title

Figure image
England Under-20s successfully defended their IRB Junior World Championship, beating South Africa 21-20 in the Final at Eden Park, Auckland.

Tries from Nathan Earle and Joel Conlon looked to have put England on the way, but South Africa rallied from 21-13 down to set up a thrilling finale.
In the end, a pair of penalties and a conversion from Billy Burns – plus an Aaron Morris penalty from inside his own half – proved just enough.
Leicester Tigers trio Henry Purdy, Harry Rudkin and George Catchpole shared in the squad’s triumph, with Purdy becoming a two-time winner after playing in the 2013 tournament alongside club colleagues Tom Price and Harry Wells.
Head coach Nick Walshe said: "We grew into the game and I thought we took all their shots and then we started getting into our game.
“This is a magnificent effort and I am so unbelievably proud of the boys. It just is an incredible achievement. It is just as special as last year.
“Last year it was special because it was the first, this year it is special because of where we are and what it means and how we have played. It's been phenomenal."
England Under-20s  
15 Aaron Morris (Bedford Blues)
14 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Harry Sloan (Harlequins)
11 Nathan Earle (Saracens)
10 Billy Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Henry Taylor (Loughborough University)
1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
2 Tom Woolstencroft (Bath Rugby)
3 Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, captain)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)
7 Gus Jones (London Wasps)
8 James Chisholm (Harlequins)
16 Jack Walker (Leeds Carnegie) for Woolstencroft 62 mins
17 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps) for Hobbs-Awoyemi 70 mins
18 Biyi Alo (Saracens)
19 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (Saracens)
20 Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs) for Jones 40 mins
21 Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby)
22 Sam Olver (Northampton Saints)
23 Henry Purdy (Leicester Rugby)