Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Youngs is back for England

Figure image
Ben Youngs has been recalled to the England team for the third test in New Zealand this weekend and joins Leicester Tigers' summer recruit Freddie Burns at half-back.

Scrum-half Youngs and fly-half Burns replace the injured Danny Care and Owen Farrell for the last match of the tour, at Waikato Stadium in Hamilton.
Among the other changes in the team after last Saturday’s one-point defeat in the second Test, is a return to the outside centre berth for Manu Tuilagi, who wins his 25th cap.
Tuilagi, who was named on the wing last weekend, is joined at centre by Kyle Eastmond, who comes in for Billy Twelvetrees, with Chris Ashton recalled on the wing.
Geoff Parling is joined by Courtney Lawes in the second row and there are starts for Dylan Hartley and Billy Vunipola who take over from Rob Webber and Ben Morgan.
England head coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We want to finish the tour and the season on a high and we have a fantastic opportunity on Saturday. Our aim was to win a Test series and we are disappointed that we haven’t, but I am confident the players selected will go all out to achieve the win on Saturday.
"We have progressed as a squad during this tour and while there has been challenges with the end of season scheduling affecting selection it has been a great opportunity to work with a wider group of players and test many of them at the highest level in the build up to the World Cup.”
Kick-off on Saturday is a 7.35pm New Zealand time, 8.35am in the UK.
England (v New Zealand, 3rd  Test, Steinlager Series, Waikato Stadium, Hamilton)    
15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 28 caps)   
14 Chris Ashton (Saracens, 38 caps) 
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 24 caps)   
12 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby, 3 caps) 
11 Marland Yarde (London Irish, 4 caps)  
10 Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby, 4 caps)    
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 37 caps)   
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 21 caps)    
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 56 caps) 
3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 36 caps)    
4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 31 caps)    
5 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers, 21 caps)   
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 29 caps)    
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 27 caps)(c)    
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 9 caps) 

16 Rob Webber Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 7 caps) 
17 Matt Mullan (London Wasps, 4 caps) 
18 Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons, 1 cap) 
19 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 21 caps) 
20 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 22 caps) 
21 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, 17 caps) 
22 Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks, 8 caps) 
23 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints, 6 caps)