Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Five Tigers named among season's best

Figure image
Five Leicester Tigers players have been selected in the ESPN Dream Team for the 2011/12 season.

Toby Flood, Horacio Agulla, Alesana Tuilagi, Dan Cole and Geoff Parling were all named in the team at the Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards on Tuesday evening, as selected by ESPN analysts and former England internationals Austin Healey and Ben Kay.

Wings Agulla and Tuilagi have enjoyed an excellent season in a free-scoring Tigers team, while England international trio Flood, Cole and Parling have also been central to the team’s push for places in the knockout stages of the Aviva Premiership season.

Tuilagi was also among the shortlisted names in the MBNA Try of the Season category – after his score against Harlequins in April – which was won by Gloucester full-back Jonny May for his stunning strike against Quins.

Tigers colleague Julian Salvi was among the nominations in the Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season which was won by Harlequins back-rower Chris Robshaw who picked up his award at the ceremony at the London Hilton, Park Lane on Tuesday.

Richard Cockerill, winner in 2008/09, was shortlisted for the QBE Director of Rugby of the Season award which went to Rob Baxter of Exeter Chiefs.

Baxter led the Chiefs into Aviva Premiership Rugby last season and has guided the club to fifth in the Aviva Premiership table and a place in next year’s Heineken Cup.

Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards

Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season
Winner: Chris Robshaw
Shortlist: Brad Barritt (Saracens), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), James Scaysbrook (Exeter Chiefs), Julian Salvi (Leicester Tigers), Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby)

Land Rover Discovery of the Season
Winner: Owen Farrell
Shortlist: Owen Farrell (Saracens) Jonathan Joseph (London Irish), Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Christian Wade (London Wasps), Luke Wallace (Harlequins)

QBE Director of Rugby of the Season
Winner: Rob Baxter
Shortlist: Rob Baxter (Exeter Chiefs), Richard Cockerill (Leicester Tigers), Conor O’Shea (Harlequins)

MBNA Try of the Season
Winner: Jonny May
Shortlist: Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby v Exeter Chiefs), Michael Claassens (Bath Rugby v London Irish), James Downey (Northampton Saints v Exeter Chiefs), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby v Harlequins), Alesana Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers v Northampton Saints), Christian Wade (London Wasps v Leicester Tigers), Luke Wallace (Harlequins v London Wasps)

Gatorade Game Changer of the Season
Winner: Gonzalo Camacho (Exeter Chiefs)
Runners-up: 2nd Andy Powell (Sale Sharks), 3rd Rob Miller (Sale Sharks).

Aviva Community Player of the Season
Winner: Bob Casey
Shortlist: Bob Casey (London Irish), Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints), Will Fraser (Saracens), James Hudson (Newcastle Falcons)

J.P. Morgan Asset Management Premiership Rugby 7s Series Player of the Season
Winner: Luke Fielden
Shortlist: Danny Bibby (Sale Sharks), Ross Chisholm (Harlequins), Luke Fielden (Newcastle Falcons), James Short (Saracens).

Guinness Top Try Scorer
Winner: Rob Miller (Sale Sharks) – 10 tries

Gilbert Golden Boot
Winner: Tom Homer (London Irish) – 253 points

ESPN Dream Team
Mike Brown (Harlequins); Horacio Agulla (Leicester), George Lowe (Harlequins), George Pisi (Northampton), Alesana Tuilagi (Leicester); Toby Flood (Leicester), Haydn Thomas (Exeter); Joe Marler (Harlequins), Schalk Brits (Saracens), Dan Cole (Leicester), Samu Manoa (Northampton), Geoff Parling (Leicester), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain), James Scaysbrook (Exeter), Nick Easter (Harlequins)