Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Team News | Tigers side for Prem Cup semi-final

Figure image

The Leicester Tigers matchday squad for Tuesday evening’s Premiership Rugby Cup semi-final against London Irish has been named.

Jack van Poortvliet will be  captain at Brentford Community Stadium, with the 20-year-old leading the team for a third time during the Cup campaign.

Included in the matchday squad are 18 players who have made their Leicester Tigers debut so far this season, with Simon Koroiyadi and Joseph Woodward still members of the club’s Under-18 Academy programme.

Tom Cowan-Dickie, Sean Jansen and Bryce Hegarty are the only players included who featured in last weekend’s Gallagher Premiership game against Harlequins.

In the starting pack, James Whitcombe and Nephi Leatigaga are the props and Cowan-Dickie the hooker.

Lewis Chessum and David Douglas Bridge are the starting locks, with Scott Hall, Emeka Ilione and Jansen forming the back row.

Archie Vanes, Dan Richardson, Will Hurd, Tomiwa Agbongbon and Koroiyadi are the replacement forwards.

Dan Lancaster partners van Poortvliet as the half-backs, with Juan Pablo Socino and Kini Murimurivalu named in the Leicester midfield.

Hegarty is the starting full-back, with Hosea Saumaki and Joe Browning on the wings.

Sam Edwards, Jacob Cusick and Woodward are the replacement backs.

Previewing the Premiership Rugby Cup semi-final, Tigers coach Brett Deacon said: “London Irish are a side capable of scoring points, from almost anywhere on the pitch, and have some attacking threats throughout their side.

“It is a great privilege for these players, a lot of them still young men and early on in their rugby journey, to represent the club in a semi-final and we are excited to see them in action, together, on Tuesday night.

“Just like what is asked of every Leicester Tigers team, every week, we want to see a performance on Tuesday night in London that is something our supporters will be proud of at full-time.”

15 Bryce Hegarty [14]
14 Joe Browning [1]
13 Kini Murimurivalu [35]
12 Juan Pablo Socino [8]
11 Hosea Saumaki [11]
10 Dan Lancaster [4]
9 Jack van Poortvliet (c) [44]
1 James Whitcombe [20]
2 Tom Cowan-Dickie [7]
3 Nephi Leatigaga [63]
4 David Douglas Bridge [1]
5 Lewis Chessum [1]
6 Scott Hall [1]
7 Emeka Ilione [1]
8 Sean Jansen [3]

16 Archie Vanes [3]
17 Dan Richardson [4]
18 Will Hurd [6]
19 Tomiwa Agbongbon [4]
20 Simon Koroiyadi [2]
21 Sam Edwards [3]
22 Joseph Woodward [1]
23 Jacob Cusick [4]

London Irish: 15 Henry Arundell, 14 James Stokes, 13 Will Joseph, 12 Curtis Rona, 11 Lucio Cinti, 10 Noel Reid, 9 Ben White; 1 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Mike Willemse, 3 Ciaran Parker, 4 Chunya Munga, 5 George Nott, 6 Jack Cooke (c), 7 Ben Donnell, 8 Albert Tuisue

Replacements: 16 Matt Cornish, 17 Allan Dell, 18 Ollie Hoskins, 19 Steve Mafi, 20 Chandler Cunningham-South, 21 Caolan Englefield, 22 Jacob Atkins, 23 Phil Cokanasiga