Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Tigers pair selected in season's Dream Team

Figure image
Leicester Tigers duo Vereniki Goneva and Logovi'i Mulipola have been named in the BT Sports Dream at the annual Aviva Premiership Rugby awards.

Representatives of all 12 Aviva Premiership teams attended the awards event  at the London Hilton, Park Lane on Thursday evening when Goneva was also named as the season’s Pol Roger Top Try-Scorer.
As Goneva is part of the Tigers squad preparing for the Premiership semi-finals, colleagues Anthony Allen and Tom Croft travelled to London for the awards, with Allen receiving the honour on behalf of his team-mate.
The battle for the Pol Roger Top Try-Scorer award went down to the final two weekends as Goneva finished on 12 tries, one ahead of Saracens wing David Strettle.

Mulipola, who has played on both sides of the Tigers front row in an eye-catching season, joined Goneva in the BT Sport Dream Team, selected by BT Sport's on-air team of Martin Bayfield, Lawrence Dallaglio, Matt Dawson, Jill Douglas, Craig Doyle, Sarra Elgan, Alastair Eykyn, Austin Healey, Ben Kay, and Nick Mullins.

The Tigers prop was also shortlisted in the ITV Sport Try of the Season category, though the prize eventually went to Jamie Elliott of Northampton Saints.
Goneva was also among the shortlisted nominations for the Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season award which went to Harlequins full-back Mike Brown.
The winners and nominees in full were as follows:
Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season
Winner: Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Shortlist: Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers); Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints); Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors); Jacques Burger (Saracens) and Dan Braid (Sale Sharks).

Land Rover Discovery of the Season
Winner: Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Shortlist: Jamie Elliott (Northampton Saints), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Elliott Stooke (Gloucester Rugby), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers).

Guinness Director of Rugby of the Season
Winner: Mark McCall (Saracens)
Shortlist: Richard Cockerill (Leicester Tigers), Steve Diamond (Sale Sharks)

ITV Sport Try of the Season
Winner: Jamie Elliott (Northampton Saints) v Gloucester Rugby
Shortlist: Christian Wade (London Wasps) v Gloucester Rugby, Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby) v Exeter Chiefs, Kelly Brown (Saracens) v Northampton Saints, Logovi'i Mulipola (Leicester Tigers) v Exeter Chiefs and Dean Mumm (Exeter Chiefs) v Worcester Warriors

Gatorade Game Changer of the Season
Winner: Nick Easter (Harlequins)
Runners-up: Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks) and Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby).

Aviva Community Player of the Season
Winner: Dean Schofield (Worcester Warriors)
Shortlist: Jamie George (Saracens), Mat Gilbert (Bath Rugby), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Tane Tu'ipulotu (Newcastle Falcons), Dom Waldouck (Northampton Saints)

Pol Roger Top Try Scorer of the Season
Winner:  Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers) 12 tries
Runner-up: David Strettle (Saracens) 11 tries

Gilbert Golden Boot
Winner: George Ford (Bath Rugby) 235 points
Runner-up: Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints) 220 points

BT Sport Dream Team
Mike Brown (Harlequins); Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby);  Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby), Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers); Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints), Danny Care (Harlequins);  Joe Marler (Harlequins), Dave Ward (Harlequins), Logovi'i Mulipola (Leicester Tigers), Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints), Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks), Dan Braid (Sale Sharks), Jacques Burger (Saracens), and Billy Vunipola (Saracens).

Green Flag Forward of the Year
Winner: Nick Easter (Harlequins)
Shortlist: Schalk Brits (Saracens), Sione Kalamafoni (Gloucester Rugby), Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints), Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
Past winners
Premiership Rugby Player of the Season 2012-13 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers), 2011-12 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), 2010-11 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints), 2009-10 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints), 2008-9 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), 2007-8  James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby). 2006-7 Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers). 2005-6 Mike Catt (London Irish). 2004-5 Martin Corry (Leicester Tigers).

Young Player of the Season 2012-13 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), 2011-12 Owen Farrell (Saracens), 2010-11 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), 2009-10  Ben Youngs, (Leicester Tigers), 2008-9 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins), 2007-8 Danny Cipriani (London Wasps), 2006-7 Tom Rees (London Wasps), 2005-6 Tom Varndell (Leicester Tigers). 2004-5 Ollie Smith (Leicester Tigers)

Director of Rugby of the Season 2012-13 Mark McCall (Saracens), 2011-12 Rob Baxter (Exeter Chiefs), 2010-11 Jim Mallinder (Northampton Saints), 2009-10 Andy Key, (Leeds Carnegie), 2008-9 Richard Cockerill (Leicester Tigers), 2007-8 Dean Ryan (Gloucester Rugby), 2006-7 Pat Howard (Leicester Tigers), 2005-6: Philippe Saint-Andre (Sale Sharks), 2004-5 John Wells (Leicester Tigers).