Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Tuilagi switches to the wing with England

Figure image
Manu Tuilagi will play on the wing for England in the second Test against New Zealand in Dunedin on Saturday.

Tuilagi, who has 23 caps, moves from outside centre after the recall of Billy Twelvetrees and Luther Burrell in midfield.
England make five changes in personnel after the 20-15 defeat in the opening Test of the series, with Owen Farrell, Danny Care and Tom Wood joining Twelvetrees and Burrell in reclaiming their places.
Tuilagi is one of two further positional changes, with Marland Yarde moving from right wing to the opposite flank.
Leicester Tigers second-rower Geoff Parling retains his place to earn his 21st cap, while clubmate Ben Youngs is among the replacements alongside summer signing Freddie Burns.
Former Tigers prop Kieran Brookes comes into the England matchday squad for the first time.
Head coach Stuart Lancaster said: “It’s been evident in training just how intense competition for places is but especially now we have the guys who arrived at the end of last week. We knew selection for this Test was always going to be tough, with the players who played at Eden Park putting their hands up and those who watched from the stands. 
"I am sure it will be a fantastic occasion in Dunedin and we are really looking forward to challenging ourselves against the All Blacks.
“With the Crusaders game coming up around the corner and the third Test in Hamilton, all our squad will get opportunities which will be great experience as we continue to develop our depth in the build up to the World Cup."
Saturday’s match the second in the Steinlager Series is a 7.35pm kick-off in New Zealand (8.35am UK time) at the Forsyth Bar Stadium.
England (v New Zealand, 2nd Test) 
15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 27 caps) 
14 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 23 caps) 
13 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 13 caps)
11 Marland Yarde (London Irish, 3 caps)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 24 caps) 
9 Danny Care (Harlequins, 47 caps) 
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 20 caps)  
2 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 6 caps)  
3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 35 caps)  
4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 20 caps)  
5 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers, 20 caps) 
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 28 caps)  
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 26 caps)(c)  
8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 21 caps)  

16 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 55 caps)  
17 Matt Mullan (London Wasps, 3 caps)  
18 Kieran Brookes (Newcastle, uncapped)  
19 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 30 caps)  
20 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 8 caps)  
21 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 36 caps)  
22 Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby, 4 caps)
23 Chris Ashton (Saracens, 37 caps)