Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Youngs to start first Test in New Zealand

Figure image
Ben Youngs will start Saturday's first Test against New Zealand at Eden Park.

The Leicester Tigers scrum-half replaces Danny Care (Harlequins), who has not recovered from a shoulder injury. Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints) comes on to the replacements’ bench.
Youngs will win his 36th England cap and joins Tigers teammates Geoff Parling and Manu Tuilagi in the starting XV.
England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “Danny is getting there but we won’t take any risks and we need every player to be 100 per cent. Ben Youngs is one of our most experienced players - he has played against the All Blacks three times and is raring to go. Lee has known all week that he could be featuring so we managed his preparation accordingly.”

England (v New Zealand, First Test, Steinlager Series, Eden Park, Saturday, June 7, 7.35pm NZST/8.35am BST)
15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 26 caps)
14 Marland Yarde (London Irish, 2 caps)
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 22 caps)
12 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby, 2 caps)
11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 6 caps)
10 Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby, 3 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 35 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 19 caps)
2 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 5 caps)
3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 34 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 19 caps)
5 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers, 19 caps)
6 James Haskell (London Wasps, 50 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 25 caps)
8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 20 caps)

16 Joe Gray (Harlequins, uncapped)
17 Matt Mullan (London Wasps, 3 caps)
18 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks, 6 caps)
19 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 10 caps)
20 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs, 7 caps)
21 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, 16 caps)
22 Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks, 7 caps)
23 Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors, uncapped)