Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Team News | Tigers side to play Chiefs

Figure image

Steve Borthwick has named the Leicester Tigers matchday squad for Sunday’s away game against Exeter Chiefs in Round 21 of the Gallagher Premiership season.

The Tigers Head Coach has included all seven of the returning England internationals following the conclusion of the 2022 Six Nations, with Ellis Genge captaining the side at loosehead prop.

Vice-captain Hanro Liebenberg, who has led the team in Genge’s absence, will make his 50th appearance for Tigers.

The team includes just one player, Nephi Leatigaga, who featured in the club’s last outing – away to the Newcastle Falcons in the Premiership Rugby Cup.

"They [Exeter Chiefs] have a brilliant squad, who have not only played a lot of rugby together but also achieved a lot of success together as a group"

Steve Borthwick

Genge and Joe Heyes are the props with Julián Montoya at hooker in the starting front row.

Harry Wells and Eli Snyman are the starting locks, with Liebenberg, Ollie Chessum and Jasper Wiese in the back row.

Nic Dolly, James Whitcombe and Leatigaga are the replacement front-rowers, while Calum Green and Tommy Reffell are the remaining forwards included on the Leicester bench.

Ben Youngs and George Ford are the team’s half-backs, starting together in club colours for the first time in 12 weeks.

Dan Kelly and Guy Porter are the centre pairing, with Nemani Nadolo and Chris Ashton as the starting wings and Freddie Steward included at full-back for his first league appearance in almost three months.

Jack van Poortvliet, Freddie Burns and Matías Moroni are the backs included among the replacements.

Previewing the away game against Exeter Chiefs, Borthwick said: “Exeter are very good side, who have been the benchmark of the league for a number of years now.

“We know it will be a big challenge, against a team who will be looking to continue their recent run of good form at home.

“They have a brilliant squad who have not only played a lot of rugby together but also achieved a lot of success together as a group.

“Exeter have a wonderful understanding of one another, having been together under the guidance of Rob Baxter and his coaching team for many, many years now and you can see that value of that experience together in the way that they play.”

15 Freddie Steward [47]
14 Chris Ashton [4]
13 Guy Porter [37]
12 Dan Kelly [39]
11 Nemani Nadolo [30]
10 George Ford [119]
9 Ben Youngs [274]
1 Ellis Genge (c) [101]
2 Julián Montoya [21]
3 Joe Heyes [92]
4 Harry Wells [146]
5 Eli Snyman [15]
6 Ollie Chessum [23]
7 Hanro Liebenberg (vc) [49]
8 Jasper Wiese [35]

16 Nic Dolly [18]
17 James Whitcombe [18]
18 Nephi Leatigaga [62]
19 Calum Green [82]
20 Tommy Reffell [69]
21 Jack van Poortvliet [41]
22 Freddie Burns [93]
23 Matías Moroni [26]

EXETER CHIEFS: 15 Josh Hodge, 14 Olly Woodburn, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ian Whitten, 11 Tom O'Flaherty, 10 Joe Simmonds (c); 9 Sam Maunder; 1 Alec Hepburn, 2 Jack Innard, 3 Harry Williams, 4 Richard Capstick, 5 Jonny Gray, 6 Dave Ewers, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 8 Sam Simmonds
Replacements: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Billy Keast, 18 Patrick Schickerling, 19 Will Witty, 20 Santiago Grondona, 21 Jack Maunder, 22 Harvey Skinner, 23 Facundo Cordero