Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Leicester Tigers 2022/23 Squad & Coaching Team

Figure image

Leicester Tigers can confirm the Men’s Senior Squad, Senior Academy Squad and Coaching Team ahead of the 2022/23 season.

The 45-man Senior Squad includes nine summer additions in Phil Cokanasiga, Olly Cracknell, James Cronin, Tom Horton, Jimmy Gopperth, Handre Pollard, Lachlan Shelley, Joe Taufete’e and Anthony Watson.

The 21-man Senior Academy includes nine players to make the step up to senior rugby from the club’s Under-18 academy programme.

Head Coach Steve Borthwick oversees the senior rugby programme and leads the coaching team, while also being responsible for team selection.

Aled Walters, who joined Leicester Tigers alongside Borthwick in July 2020, continues as Head of Physical Performance.

Kevin Sinfield continues as the lead on the club’s defence, while Player/Coach Richard Wigglesworth leads the Attack.

Tom Harrison, entering his third season as part of Borthwick’s team, coaches the club’s Scrum.

Brett Deacon coaches the contact area and will lead the Premiership Rugby Cup coaching team.

Matt Smith coaches skills and will oversee the coaching of the Senior Academy Squad as the 21-man outfit continue the transition into senior rugby.

The only new addition to Borthwick’s team is Mark Kilgallon as Strength & Conditioning Lead.

Kilgallon, who has most recently worked with Munster Rugby, joins Tigers from the Irish club after previously working with the Sydney Swans, as well as having had stints with the Sports Institute of Northern Ireland and Welsh Rugby National Academy.


Steve Borthwick

Tom Cowan-Dickie, Charlie Clare, Nic Dolly, Tom Horton, Julian Montoya, Joe Taufete’e
Dan Cole, James Cronin, Joe Heyes, Will Hurd, Nephi Leatigaga, Dan Richardson, James Whitcombe, Francois van Wyk
Calum Green, Cameron Henderson, Eli Snyman, Harry Wells
Ollie Chessum, Olly Cracknell, Sean Jansen, Hanro Liebenberg (c), George Martin, Tommy Reffell, Jasper Wiese
Jack van Poortvliet, Richard Wigglesworth, Ben Youngs
Freddie Burns, Bryce Hegarty, Handre Pollard
Phil Cokanasiga, Jimmy Gopperth, Dan Kelly, Guy Porter, Matt Scott
Chris Ashton, Kini Murimurivalu, Nemani Nadolo, Harry Potter, Hosea Saumaki, Lachlan Shelley, Harry Simmons, Freddie Steward, Anthony Watson


Joe Browning, Rob Carmichael, Finn Carnduff, Lewis Chessum, Oliver Crane, Jacob Cusick, George Daniels, Sam Edwards, Tim Hoyt, Emeka Ilione, Simon Koroiyadi, George Loose, Joshua Manz, Tom Manz, Morgan Meredith, Chester Owen, Seb Smith, Archie Vanes, Jed Walsh, Riley Williams, Joseph Woodward


Head Coach: Steve Borthwick
Head of Physical Performance: Aled Walters
Defence Coach: Kevin Sinfield
Attack Coach: Richard Wigglesworth
Scrum Coach: Tom Harrison
Assistant Coach: Brett Deacon
Assistant Coach: Matt Smith
Strength & Conditioning Lead: Mark Kilgallon